Public Service Announcement from a Retail Worker, With Love.

For all of you who are reading this, I am an employee at the ever-popular Forever 21.  Now, as I’m approaching my one-year anniversary with my job there, I have learned a lot about the retail environment.  I have narrowed down my lists of pros and cons, and I’ve fine-tuned my customer service skills.  Although I am aware of the problems that arise in a store on any given day,  I am lead to believe that oftentimes, the customer is not.

This blog post, unlike majority of the posts I have made, and plan to make in the future, is going to be very short and very sweet.  It’s about hygiene.  You may be asking yourself how hygiene has anything to do with shopping.  If you put your mind to it, I’m sure you’ll get it.  We’re approaching the summer, and in retail, with summer comes swimsuits.  If you haven’t noticed, there is a little sticker on the inside of most suits asking if you would keep your undergarments on while trying on the piece.  I cannot express how important it is to follow that sticker’s advice!  I’m not saying you’re unhygienic, or anything, but the person who tried it on before you might be.  That sticker isn’t only preventing bacterial diseases to be spread, but most importantly, it’s preventing bacterial diseases from being spread to you.

Aside from your health and happiness, I have to be a snooty retail worker for a second and say that I don’t like touching dirty swimsuits.  You wouldn’t believe the garments I have had to handle.  I am not complaining, I am just giving you a heads up.  I work in a store with 52,000 pieces of clothing alone, and I will not find every piece of clothing that’s ripped, stained, or dirty.  I believe it is the employee’s job to make sure the products on the floor are ready for consumers, but consumers have a responsibility to keep those garments in a decent condition as well.  If we work together, everything should run smoothly.

The point I’m trying to focus on is for all of my fellow shoppers to be healthy and follow the simplest rule of all when trying on bathing suits.  Leave your undergarments on.  Your health is on the line, and laziness isn’t worth what could follow.

Leave a Reply

