How I Lost My Sushi Virginity

Image

As a stern midwesterner, I never felt the urge to put raw fish in my mouth.  The hype around sushi never fazed me.  In recent weeks, I have been put in a situation where my spontentaity and free spirit is challenged on a regular basis.

Maybe if I wasn’t such a child, I would be more open minded to trying new foods, however, fish is on a different level than all the other foods.  I have an incredible phobia of fish.  I can’t stand them alive or dead. I don’t want to look at them, I don’t want to touch them, and I sure as hell don’t want them in my mouth.  I avoid lakes, ponds, rivers, aquariums, and obviously, sushi resaurants at all costs.

When it comes to avoiding sushi, or any seafood, I just tend to tell people that I don’t like it.  The fact of the matter is (was) that I haven’t actually ever tried it before.  My fear of aquatic animals was too overwhelming to think about putting a piece of salmon in my mouth.  So, honestly, I have no idea what the texture of seafood is.

A few weeks ago, I was taken out for some sushi at a nice little restaurant in Omaha, Nebraska.  As a sushi virgin, I had to request a lot of help from my waitress and my date.  I finally decided on a California roll, which is basically avacado, cucumber, rice, and the dreaded crab meat.  As an avid lover of guacamole, the avacado won me over.  I was excited for the edamame.  It was a safe food for me.  Roughly five minutes after the bowl of edamame was dropped off at our table, two long plates of raw fish came.  My stomach dropped.  Honestly, it took me a few minutes to toughen up and take a bite.  I chewed very slowly.  I don’t recall tasting the crab, because I was too paranoid about the crunch of the cucumber.  I didn’t have a great experience with it.

Overall, I would rate it a 3 out of 10.  I definitely could have eaten worse things, but I don’t anticipate a sushi craving ever in my life.  I can report that eating fish did not kill me, and for that, I might be a little bit stronger.  I am still bitter that I didn’t take a bite into sushi, which every human I know raves about, and fall in love.  I can now be a normal 20 year-old college girl and say she’s had sushi. But I will fill the void as the first one to admit she dislikes it strongly.  Shoutout to all the adventurous people out there who don’t think fish is considered an insane food to eat.

Leave a Reply

