2015

The last successful New Year’s Resolution I made was when I stopped drinking pop.  I haven’t had one in four years, and I am so proud of that!  In recent years, my resolutions have been much more vague.  Last year I wanted to explore the world around me, I wanted to write more, I wanted to learn French.  My motivation often wears thin by January 5th.

I have really struggled with my resolution for 2015.  I am a fairly healthy girl. I watch what I eat and drink.  I exercise regularly.  I read.  I’m an excellent student.  On the surface, I don’t see much that needs incredible improvement.  So, I step back, and look a little bit deeper within myself.  I read over my personality traits and characteristics.  What can be improved?  Communication.

For the past six years, I would say the least appealing part about Miss Emma J Rathe (me) is my communication skills.  Multiple people have complained to me about it.  It is frustrating for me, because I know that I need to improve in that area of my life.

I need to calm down.  I need to internalize that texting first does not mean that I am a burden.  I can call people for no reason.  I can send letters, or flowers, or postcards.  I have to tune out my paranoid anxieties that I am an annoyance, and grasp that people love to know that they are being thought about.  I can spread more love by approaching them and initiating conversations.

I have been told that I am cold and distant.  I feel that if I can approach people, rather than sit back and wait for a conversation to be started with me, I can let people in my lives more easily.

Being more open with my communication will help me maintain strength in my relationships.  It’s difficult to be active in someone’s life who won’t speak.

So instead of making a massive lifestyle change, my resolution for 2015 is to pick up the phone, or a pen, or a new draft for an email.  My resolution is to start talking about even the most miniscule details of my day, because that is better than hearing nothing at all.  I hope this can bind up the loose ends on some relationships that I have failed to nurture.  I am nervous and uncomfortable and excited all at once for this, hopefully, helpful change in my life.

Good luck on your resolutions!  I hope 2015 brings you love, peace, joy, knowledge, friendship, and bliss.  Be merry!

2 thoughts on “2015

  1. Emma, I love that I’m not the only one who is focusing on communication this year! I too have felt like a burden to others and so I’ll text to get a feel for the waters. I’m resolving to communicate more using the lost art of letter writing. I personally feel that getting something in the mail (that isn’t a bill) is much easier to appreciate plus because it’s written it shows more devotion to the friend, that they are worth more than an email or text. You inspire me Emma! I hope that this year brings you everything you want!

    Blessings,

    Lauren

    Like

Leave a Reply

