Independent Woman

While I was twenty and working away through my junior year of college, I lived at home.  I never knew bills or budgeting.  It was close to a stress-free lifestyle. Now, I’m twenty-one, I found myself a wonderful boyfriend, and (wait for it) we’re living together this summer!

I know, I know, it’s not like a permanent living situation, but it’s what we’re calling our trial, or test run.  We want to see if we are compatible enough to live with each other.  I think its smart. Relationships are hard.  Going from a long-distance relationship to living with each other is a big change, but so far, we’re loving it!

Not only do I get to hang out with my best friend all the time, we live downtown.  We have this quaint one-bedroom apartment in the heart of Lincoln, Nebraska. I know it doesn’t sound so thrilling, but it’s exciting to be on my own, in the middle of downtown, with a roof that looks down onto my hometown. It’s really satisfying.

Aside from the emotional joy from living with Hayden and living without the help of my parents in general, I am finally paying bills! I can hear the groans of people everywhere who moved out when they were eighteen, maybe earlier, but this is a first for me and I love it. I feel very responsible and able and fortunate.  I feel so independent.  I feel like I don’t have to rely on people for me to be able to live the life that I want.

I’m learning to budget my income, so that I can pay rent, and buy groceries, and still afford to go shopping, or go out every once in a while.  The one thing I definitely overlooked was furnishing an apartment.  Because my boyfriend and I expect to live together once I’m graduated from school in May, we invested in pieces that would last.  My wallet felt the punch.  Still, I’m so happy to be on my own for the first time. I feel like I’m flying.

(Next week, I plan on doing a post of the interior of the apartment, with pictures! Get excited.)

Leave a Reply

