The Sweetest Vows

As I was scrolling through Tumblr, I ran across a post with Celtic wedding vows, and I have never loved anything more.

“You cannot possess me for I belong to myself
But while we both wish it, I give you that which is mine to give
You cannot command me, for I am a free person
But I shall serve you in those ways you require
and the honeycomb will taste sweeter coming from my hand.”

“I pledge to you that yours will be the name I cry aloud in the night.
And the eyes into which I smile in the morning.
I pledge to you the first bite from my meat,
And the first drink from my cup.
I pledge to you my living and dying, equally in your care,
And tell no strangers our grievances.
This is my wedding vow to you.
This is a marriage of equals.”

I’m a romantic, and this was so empowering as well as compassionate.  Love yourself, yes.  Marriage doesn’t mean that you possess one another.  It means that you are allowing each other to share the rest of your lives together.  Living as equals. No one is on a pedestal. No one has more power.  However, it doesn’t suggest that spouses won’t help each other, or be generous.

I thought these were lovely vows to read this morning.  I’m not engaged (or married, obviously) but I strive to love like this in my relationship.

Leave a Reply

