How I Knew

at midnight

when my heart used to feel sore

my eyes felt heavier

and our song sounded less nostalgic

 

my hand forgot where your callus was

and how your palms would sweat

 

I thought my eyes would never forget you

but I did

I forgot your lips

no memories,

nothing

did you bite or were you gentle?

 

When did I stop crying in my car?

When did I stop wearing your favorite shirt?

When did I stop dreaming about you?

 

anxiety and nostalgia kept me hopeful

but I untied my brain from my heart

and I fled

 

you fled twice before, though

so let me fly once

 

you still warm my heart

and all memories are still happy

 

but now,

I’m airborne and I can’t be caught

Leave a Reply

