Moving

15941323_10211766780794409_7601888517331977624_nAs disappointed as I am for not writing many Los Angeles based blog posts in the time that I’ve lived here, I have an update, for those who are still around and reading: I’m moving.

It seems that I’m a person who isn’t easily pleased, or at the very least, I’m incredibly indecisive. I went to three different colleges and changed majors twice before I felt remotely content in my studies. I’ve hopped from the Midwest to the East Coast then to the West Coast. I constantly want to go to grad school, but then almost immediately change my mind. This decision has been a process. I had to keep my ambitions in tact while trying to be realistic.

I’m moving to Atlanta. I’m leaving Los Angeles in less than a week.

This past year has been a challenge. While in Los Angeles, I’ve had an internship with a film management company. After that ended, it seemed that my luck had run out here. As I pack my bags, I get to add a little bit of film development to my resume, as well as time spent as a barista. With obstacles come decisions, though.

At what point do I turn Plan A into a Plan B or C? Do I continue to apply to every job in Los Angeles for months while I work in a coffee house?  One of my first executive decisions as a 23 year old is that I will be better fit to work in the film industry in Atlanta. I will be able to sustain myself financially much better there. I’m not moving because of the location. I could care less the location as long as I’m working in my desired field. I don’t need to justify myself to anyone. I am doing what I want to make me happy.

In the next few weeks, I will be all over the country. I will drive from Los Angeles to Nebraska, taking a few stops on the way to see the Grand Canyon and other sites. (Let me know in the comments if you have any recommendations!) Once I make it home, I’ll get to see my family for the first time since August! I can’t wait. I’ll fly to New York to spend time with my boyfriend, watching his senior thesis presentations and productions, as well as award ceremonies and final screenings. I can’t wait to see him walk for graduation. I’m such a proud girlfriend. Within a week of him walking, we’ll start our trek down to Atlanta. By mid May, I’ll have a room in the South.

Moving always gives me different sets of nerves. When I moved from Nebraska to New York, I was afraid I wouldn’t make friends. From New York to Los Angeles, I was afraid I wouldn’t find a job (which I didn’t). As I move again, I don’t have nerves. I’m excited to take on a new state with my best friend at my side. I’m hopeful and excited. I’m eager to see what Atlanta holds.

–I’m sorry I haven’t been blogging in the past few months. I have so many drafts in my folder, but none have my stamp of approval. I do plan on blogging much more frequently, though. So keep your eyes peeled!–

3 thoughts on “Moving

Leave a Reply

