Bearing Controversial News

Although I am currently in the midst of moving across the country, there was a part of this process that was difficult. The moving and the traveling and the sightseeing is so easy and exciting compared to the very beginning of this journey I’m on. It was telling everyone. My parents. My friends. My coworkers. I was terrified.

I am a perfectionist. I don’t think my life necessarily resembles that, however, I hold myself to extremely high standards. My biggest fear moving to the West Coast was that I might fail. I was terrified that I would give up, or just not make it at all. When I made the decision at the beginning of March to leave, I was nervous to share my news. I care so much how people perceive me. I don’t ever want to come across as a failure. Or naive.

My parents were very supportive of the move. Essentially, they agreed that I’m 23 and only I can know what is going to be fulfilling for me. My sister has expressed her approval. My friends share excitement with me. My boyfriend is supportive as well. My nerves think of the worst case scenario for every scenario. I don’t know why I thought I’d be disowned and looked down upon, when it was fairly well received by everyone.

Dropping big news can be daunting. It’s been really simple so far for me, because I’ve always had the luxury of announcing college acceptances and dreams of where I want to move in person. Good news is always easy to share whether that’s via phone call or over dinner. I think there’s anxiety surrounding announcing anything that is remotely controversial. I don’t think every person in my life will support my move to Atlanta in its entirety. There will be critics who don’t like that I left L.A. after eight months. There’s nothing I can say. I also refuse to justify and rationalize everything constantly, as though I’m apologetic.

If you’re announcing big moves, big purchases, college or career decisions, or anything else that may cause a mixed reaction, don’t fret. Stay strong. Remember why you are making the decision in the first place. Don’t let anyone make you feel like taking that job across the country, or going to college down the street is going to be something you regret. It is so liberating to make your own decisions, and see how those decisions work their way out as you keep going.

A year and a half ago, I made the decision that I wanted to try out Los Angeles. I had all the support, and I made my way West. Now I’m making the decision to head East. Maybe in eight months we’ll discover something else about me. As of now, I’m not apologetic and I’m excited to announce my move.

Don’t let reactions stop you from living and discovering and moving and trying new things. Don’t feel the need to justify your actions. You are your own person, and you have to find fulfillment in the world. You live one fairly short life. Don’t let anyone dictate how that life gets to be lived other than you.

Have you made a big change in your life that made you a little nervous to tell your loved ones?

 

2 thoughts on “Bearing Controversial News

  1. I started a new job about a year and a half ago. Most people didn’t agree with that change, especially since I took a pay cut at first. But it’s been great, and worked out better than I could have hoped.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

