Muses

The entire blog post is dedicated to explaining my belief that all art is continuous collaboration. Whether you paint or write or sculpt, your art stems from other art. Obviously, it is so much more than that, but inside whatever work you create, there is a seedling planted from a song or a film or textile.

I talked about ekphrasis as a throughline in my senior thesis work.  In a condensed definition, ekphrasis is a rhetorical device in which one medium of art tries to relate to another medium. In my filmmaking and screenwriting, I found my use of ekphrasis to be constant and thoughtful.

I’ve always thought having a muse was such a romantic idea, until I wrote and made films more frequently. Muses are everywhere and in everything.  Your muse may be your boyfriend or your mom. Your muse may be a tree outside your window, or the sun. Anything that speaks to you can drive you create. As a lover of all arts, I was so happy to find ekphrasis, because I think it is prevalent in all art.

I find comfort in this idea that we continue to build upon everything. Picasso and Braque were Cubists, but I make collages in an attempt to build off of that. I love knowing that art is ever changing, always evolving, forever growing. And while the momentum forward is imperative, that doesn’t diminish the appreciation when an original technique or practice is brought back into play.

I love working on celluloid film, but I appreciate the digital medium for the forgiveness it allows. I love going to museums and libraries, studying paintings and movements that inspired artists of that period. As much as I hate sequels, I love the inertia art inherently creates. Find your muses, and march onward, unforgivingly. Let’s continue. Let’s keep building. Let’s see where our muses can take us.

Leave a Reply

