Scholars:

Fellow students. Undergrad or high school. Any age, all areas of study, all levels of motivation and determination welcome. I am one of you, but not for much longer. As I approach my final two months of undergraduate studies, I want to share with you all that I have learned in my four years of college, starting with my freshman year. It’s totally my opinion on some things, but hear me out.

  • College athletics consume a lot of time, be wary
  • Don’t pursue both athletics and fine arts, you will never sleep
  • I went to an all-girls school. Do I recommend it? Yes
  • Allow yourself to make the executive decision to leave a college
  • Don’t forget to call home
  • Prove people wrong. Audition for plays
  • Don’t be afraid of community college. Saved me over $15,000.
  • Be a commuter!
  • Stop thinking people actually care what you’re wearing to class.
  • Don’t be afraid to download Tinder
  • Don’t be so anxious to meet people
  • Stop dieting
  • Don’t let boys control you
  • Travel, a lot. Roam South Dakota and Wyoming
  • Go to a college in Upstate New York, 1200 miles from home
  • Swim in Lake Ontario every chance you have
  • Film everything, so many memories
  • Don’t say yes to everyone, know your limits
  • Push yourself, challenge yourself
  • Break ups will happen. Let them.
  • Long distance relationships are hard, and you’ll cry
  • Be creative, every single day
  • Be alone. Meditate. Breathe.
  • Be single.
  • Make academic friends, drinking friends, emotional friends, girly friends, etc.
  • Make friends with your professors
  • Submit to festivals, be confident in your work
  • Fall in love
  • Stop dwelling on the past, it’s over
  • Stop freaking out over the future, you have time
  • It’s okay to cry
  • It’s healthier to see a therapist rather than not go at all
  • Take vitamins
  • Don’t forget about breakfast
  • Stay ambitious. Stay curious. Keep going.

By:


Leave a comment